Five For Fighting “Slice” *Review*

“Have you read my blog today, 300 million little USA’s, your doorstep is just a click away, we’ll get together one of these days.” ~Five For Fighting

If I had to come up with just one word that describes Five for Fighting’s newest cd Slice it would be smooth.

Which is the perfect thing for me right now. I have very diverse tastes when it comes to music ranging from traditional church hymns and classical to country to heavy metal screamo rock. Ever since Amber was born though I’ve been tending to listen to my soft music much more, I guess it’s just with a toddler you listen to so much yelling throughout the day that’s the last kind of music to listen to!

The music isn’t boring though, it’s very much “dance worthy” every time the first song starts to play Amber starts dancing, so cute!!! I also love the lyrics of that song, it gives a holler to us bloggers so what’s not to love? The second song is dedicated to “the unknown soldier” and of course being a military spouse I love that song and it’s one of my favorite songs on the cd.

In the song The Dance you hear the lyrics, “You put the beautiful in life” seriously, what girl would not melt if her man told her that?! So sweet and romantic!

All in all I love the cd. If you’re liked his smash single “Superman” at all then you should go get this album! It hits stores on October 13 but you can pre-order it from Amazon by going here right now it’s listed for only $9.99 and I think that it would be more than worth that price!

For this review I received a digital copy of the album I reviewed free. These opinions are entirely my own and I will receive no other gain from them.


  1. Serendipity is Sweet

    Oh, I didn’t know they had a new CD coming out. Glad you posted this 😀

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Heather

    I am going to check them out right now on Amazon.

  3. Heather

    Wow! I love them!!! Definitely getting their CD now so whoever you did the review for – let them know!

  4. The Bundy's

    I didn’t know you did reviews. That’s awesome. You are just all sorts of motivated 🙂

  5. Heidi Plummer

    I’m going to go listen to them on itunes…

  6. Heidi Plummer

    I really liked it! Thanks for letting us know about them.

  7. mom2boys

    Great review! Thanks for telling us about them.

  8. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    Didnt know he had a New CD

  9. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    As I am typing this in bed lil shih tzu is sleeping next to me…HE IS SNORING!!! HAHAHAHAHA!!

  10. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    His 2000 album America Town went platinum in the U.S. largely because of the success of the song “Superman (It’s Not Easy)”, which became a song of healing for America following the September 11 attacks in 2001.

  11. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    Five for Fighting is the stage name of American singer-songwriter John Ondrasik

  12. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    Ondrasik has also released a DualDisc of his 2004 album which has one side containing The Battle for Everything in its entirety and the other side being a DVD containing bonus footage and Five For Fighting music videos.

  13. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    Five for Fighting’s fourth album, Two Lights, was released on August 1, 2006.

  14. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    John Ondrasik was born on January 7, 1968 in Los Angeles, a child of a musical family…

  15. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    In his early years Ondrasik learned the piano.

  16. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    As a teenager, he learned how to play the guitar and started to write music….

  17. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    While he also learned to sing opera briefly, he quickly decided that he would like to be a singer/songwriter.

  18. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    Ondrasik went to college at UCLA and graduated with a degree in applied science and mathematics continuing to pursue music in his spare time.

  19. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    He adopted the name “Five for Fighting,” which is an expression in ice hockey when a player receives a five-minute penalty for fighting.

  20. ~*~lilshuga2001~*~

    In December 2008, John Ondrasik announced that his fifth studio album will have an expected release date of early Summer 2009.

  21. Heidi Plummer

    Sounds like you’re pretty well schooled on this topic. 🙂

  22. Heidi Plummer

    I wouldn’t have even known if Five for Fighting was the group name or the album name if it hadn’t been for this blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *